Messi sees red card in first time ever for Barcelona as they lose Supercopa final to Bilbao (Video)

Barcelona forward, Lionel Messi, was given his matching orders with a red card in the dying minutes as Barcelona lost 3-2 to Athletic Bilbao in the Supercopa final in Seville.

With the scores level going into extra time, Athletic’s Inaki Williams put his side into the lead with a stunning strike in the 93rd minute.

Lionel Messi

VAR then picked up Messi hitting down Asier Villalibre with a violent blow to the head, off the ball as they collided.

And then after consulting with the monitor, the referee promptly gave the six-time Ballon d’Or winner his marching orders.

It is only the third time in his career Messi has been sent off with a red card and the first time while playing for Barcelona.

Watch the video below:

Peter Feargod
Your realest gossip guy! I love writing as I love music and movies. Here to give y'all the latest gist as it happens!! 😉

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.